top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIICCOOL

A Train out of Colours


“Colours speak all languages” – Joseph Addison.


For weeks now I have painted the walls of the Nezabravka kindergarten. Sometimes I got company, sometimes not, but through all the time I had my colours standing by my side.


Now almost before Christmas I finally can say that I have finished my painting. A painting that required not only a lot of time, it required also my patience. (Especially after one week nonstop painting and looking at the same wall for hours.)

I am thankful for this challenge. Although I have not drawn often on walls before, the people trusted me and my talent. I got the chance to paint a lot and I got the chance to bring more colours into this building.

Just thinking about the fact that I was able to bring more colours into the life of small children is warming my heart. They deserve a bright and beautiful environment, which (hopefully) makes them smile a little bit more.




The painting which was created has many meanings. At first glance it just seems like a train with animals, but there is more depth behind. Each wagon symbolise a group. Stars, forget me not´s, hands and rainbows decorate the train.

During all the time I learned that colour express more than words. I did not need to speak to the kindergarten teachers, (though I really wanted to), to see their grateful eyes and their happy faces.


All of the work would not have happened without the support of Francesca and Hanna my dear co-workers, companions and friends. They helped me to paint these enormous pictures and kept my motivated. Thank you.





Written by Janina Makrutzki, a German volunteer of International Initiatives for Cooperation (IIC), Razlog, Bulgaria.

23 views0 comments
bottom of page